The IB Diploma educates students to be well rounded. They study six subjects, three at the standard level, and three at the higher level from 6 different subject areas. 

Standard Level Courses involve two full credits taken in grades 11 and/or 12. Higher Level courses involve three full credits in grades 11 and 12. 

Each subject has a standardized International exam written in May as well as internally assessed criteria that Eastside teachers moderate, mark and send in to IB. 


Ar Eastside Secondary School Students choose from the following:

Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4  Group 5 Group 6

English Language and Literature 

Higher Level

Language Acquisition - French

Standard Level or Higher Level

Individuals and Societies

Psychology or Business or History

Standard Level

Experimental Sciences

Biology or Chemistry

Higher Level


Analysis and Approaches or Math Studies

Standard Level or Higher Level

Arts and Electives

Visual Arts OR Chemistry OR History

Standard Level or Higher Level


The diploma also involves The Core subjects of Theory of Knowledge (TOK), Creativity Action Service (CAS) and Extended Essay(EE).